Liberty County Will – Mary Bacon

Enslaved People Named: Charlotte and her children [unnamed]
Slaveholder: Mary Bacon
Year: 1859
Location: Liberty County, Georgia

[Begin Transcript]

State of Georgia, Liberty County } In the name of God Amen. I Mary Bacon of said State and County being of advanced age and knowing that I must shortly depart this life deem it right and property both as respects my family and myself that I should make a disposition of the property with which a kind providence has blessed me do therefore make this my last will and testament hereby revoking all others heretofore made by me.

1st Item. I desire and direct that my body be buried in a decent and Christian like manner my soul I trust shall return to rest with God who gave it as I hope for Eternal Salvation through the merits and atonement of the blessed Lord and Savior Jesus Christ whose religion I have professed and as I humbly trust enjoyed for 40 years.

2nd Item. I desire and direct that all my just debts be paid without delay by my executors hereinafter appointed.

3d Item. I desire and direct that my house and lot and land belonging to the said lot on Walthourville in said county together with my house hold and kitchen furniture be sold and the proceeds arising from said sale be given bequeathed and devised to my nephew Edward Steven’s children share and share alike.

4th Item. I give bequeath and devise my negro woman Charlotte and her children to my niece Louisa Bacon (wife of Maj. E.H. Bacon) and to her children forever.

5th Item. I give bequeath and devise my horse and buggy to my nephew Oliver Stevens and to his children forever.

6th Item. The residue of my property wherever and what it may be I devise to be divided into five equal shares or portions which I give bequeath and devise to my sister Eliza Stevens one share or portion to my sister Ann O. Ripley one share or portion to my brother John Winn’s children viz. John Winn, Thomas S. Winn, W.W. Winn and Sarah Stacy’s children one share or portion to my nephew Peter W. Fleming one share or portion and to my brother Washington Winn’s children one share or portion.

7th Item. I hereby constitute and appoint W.W. Winn P.W. Fleming E. Stacy C. Hines & S.A. Fraser executors of this my last will and testament.
[Signed] Mary Bacon

Signed sealed declared and published by Mary Bacon as her last will and testament in the presence of us the subscribers who subscribed our names hereto in the presence of said testator this first April 1859.

W. Harrison
J.W. Farmer
Jesse Brewer

Recorded 17th Feby 1860
W.P. Girardeau O.L.C.
[End Transcript]

For original copy of will, see: “Georgia Probate Records, 1742-1990,” images, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3QSQ-G93T-XBSG?cc=1999178&wc=9SB7-6T5%3A267679901%2C268014801 : 20 May 2014), Liberty > Miscellaneous probate records 1850-1863 vol C and L > image 230 of 703; county probate courthouses, Georgia.

Leave a comment