Liberty County Will – Nicholas J. Clark

Enslaved People Mentioned: ?Minty?
Slaveholder: Nicholas J. Clark
Year: 1855
Location: Liberty County, Georgia

Transcription

Georgia, Liberty County } In the name of God Amen. I Nicholas J. Clark of aforesaid State and county, being well aware of the mortality of poor human nature, do make and constitute this my last will and testament.

First. I desire all my just debts to be paid; my body I give to the earth from whence it came, and my soul to the hands of that God who gave it trusting to the mercy of a [one word illegible] Redeemer for a house beyond the skies.

Second. I give and bequeath unto my daughter Susan G. Clark, a child by my former wife, a child’s portion of my estate both real and that I may be possessed of at my death, and that child’s part shall be off my estate as soon as my Executors may find convenient, and placed in the hands of my brother John Clark as her guardian provided she be not married.

Third. The balance of my estate, both real and personal, I give to my wife Caroline Clark during the widowhood, for the mutual support of herself and children under the charge of my Executor. But in case my said wife shall marry again, then and in that case my estate both real and personal, shall vest solely in the children by my present wife, under the direction and management of my Executors, educating and supporting as well as their means may warrant, and giving them their proper portion as they shall arrive at full age or marry.

Fourth. It is my will and desire, that, in the part that shall fall to my daughter Susan shall be included a little mulatto girl, called little ?Minty?.

Fifth. I do constitute and appoint as Executors to this my last will and testament , my brothers John Clark, Richard Clark, William Clark & James Clark to carry the same into effect. In testimony of which I have hereunto set my hand and seal this ninth day of July in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and forty nine.

[covered up] and acknowledged

[Signed] Nicholas J. Clark

In presence of

John E. Fraser

W. Harrison

J S Bradwell } Witnesses

[End Transcription]

[NOTE that there are two handwritten copies of this will at the below URLs, and the second one is the more legible.]

Find the original (complete) will and other papers online at Ancestry.com or FamilySearch.org. [Source name on both sites: “Georgia, Wills and Probate Records, 1742-1992” → “Liberty County” → “Wills, Alexander, E-Dorsey, J, 1864-1876”]

Leave a comment